Showing results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Windows XP 64bit Edition:

  1. #1
    Geeky Azn d00d
    Enlightened
    Loser777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,931

    Default Windows XP 64bit Edition:

    I'm thinking about upgrading my computer to XP 64bit Ed. If anyone knows any issues with this Operating System, tell me.
    It's been a pretty long time since I've been here

  2. #2
    You're all idiots. Retired Staff Member

    Inquisitor
    Mystic Videl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    lol
    Posts
    4,829

    Default

    Uh, it isn't completly supported?
    whats up friends

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Retired Staff Member

    Inquisitor
    SC_Modder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4,836

    Default

    I've heard tons of bad things about WinXP64. I suggest you don't go for it.

  4. #4
    Geeky Azn d00d
    Enlightened
    Loser777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,931

    Default

    Well, then I have tried installing Media Center but it says a file is in use, and then I skip, but when it reboots it hangs while it says resuming setup. I'm using the (9 in 1)
    It's been a pretty long time since I've been here

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Retired Staff Member

    Celestial Entity
    gamepin126's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    20,793

    Default

    Pretty much the only thing guaranteed compatible is MS Office 2003, other then that, forget it.
    "A Responsible Citizen Not Only Shares Culture, But Destroys The Copyright Industries"

    "Elegance is not a dispensable luxury but a quality that decides between success and failure. "
    "It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)"
    “Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.”

  6. #6
    You're all idiots. Retired Staff Member

    Inquisitor
    Mystic Videl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    lol
    Posts
    4,829

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loser777 View Post
    Well, then I have tried installing Media Center but it says a file is in use, and then I skip, but when it reboots it hangs while it says resuming setup. I'm using the (9 in 1)
    Ew, Media Center.
    whats up friends

  7. #7

    Default

    you can run the 32bit windows version on a x64 system right?

    "Its better to be quiet and appear stupid, then to open your mouth and remove all doubt."

  8. #8
    You're all idiots. Retired Staff Member

    Inquisitor
    Mystic Videl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    lol
    Posts
    4,829

    Default

    Of course oo.
    whats up friends

  9. #9
    hardhittnnigazwtpipznsht Senior Member
    Retired Staff Member

    Prophet
    BloodyBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    7,762

    Default

    Yes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Timothy Leary
    Think for yourself. Question authority.
    420forwyfetho






  10. #10
    Geeky Azn d00d
    Enlightened
    Loser777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,931

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mys Videl View Post
    Ew, Media Center.
    Too bad, I got it to work so now I can boot off Pro or Mce. And the interface look much better in mce, but the media player isn't working.
    It's been a pretty long time since I've been here

  11. #11
    hardhittnnigazwtpipznsht Senior Member
    Retired Staff Member

    Prophet
    BloodyBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    7,762

    Default

    MCE is Pro with some media addons, which I find makes it a better OS if you use your computer for (durr) media.

    Quote Originally Posted by Timothy Leary
    Think for yourself. Question authority.
    420forwyfetho






  12. #12
    Bee Double You Hacks Senior Member
    Retired Staff Member

    Enlightened
    Zaund's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2,606

    Default

    My dad's laptop has a 64 bit and 30 minutes out of the box it crashed.

    Edit: For Media player you're better off putting it on your xbox.

  13. #13
    hardhittnnigazwtpipznsht Senior Member
    Retired Staff Member

    Prophet
    BloodyBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    7,762

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trans_Am77˛ View Post
    My dad's laptop has a 64 bit and 30 minutes out of the box it crashed.
    Wow, you have no ****ing idea what you are talking about, do you?

    Quote Originally Posted by Timothy Leary
    Think for yourself. Question authority.
    420forwyfetho






  14. #14
    Senior Member

    Crusader
    Dyndrilliac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,618

    Default

    A 64-bit CPU is different from a 64-bit OS. A 64-bit OS is an OS that has been specially designed to utilize a 64-bit CPU. A 32-bit OS will run on a 64-bit CPU.

    You see, the primary difference between the two systems is that the maximum file size (and therefore maximum address space, and maximum supported system memory) is practically infinite. However, Windows XP x64 will run 32-bit applications, but 32-bit device drivers will not work. This kills lots of games, virus scanners, firewalls, etc. It is designed for scientific work, where the extra computational power for lab-made applications is necessary.

    The first commercial 64-bit PC OS that will be fully backwards compatible with 32-bit and 16-bit software will be Windows Vista.
    Last edited by Dyndrilliac : 09-20-2006 at 09:37 PM
    The Ultimate Guide Thread
    Quote Originally Posted by Ethernet Networking Bible
    Thou shalt switch where thy can, and route where thy must.

  15. #15
    hardhittnnigazwtpipznsht Senior Member
    Retired Staff Member

    Prophet
    BloodyBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    7,762

    Default

    At the moment, even the x64 Windows Vista betas are not backwards compatible with 32-bit drivers/software.

    Quote Originally Posted by Timothy Leary
    Think for yourself. Question authority.
    420forwyfetho






  16. #16
    Senior Member

    Saint
    punture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C. Canada
    Posts
    6,464

    Default

    I am not installing Vista upon its initial release. Maybe a year or two so that they can fix more bugs.

  17. #17

    Disciple
    MasterX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    East Greenbush, NY
    Posts
    515

    Default

    Souldn't you be able to get Pro into Media Center with a simple addon or somthin?

    Cuase i don't have media center, i've got a corperate pro, but i use an XP pro computer to control my TV


    Also found the Difference between Pro and Media

    1) Windows XP Media Center is a superset of Windows XP Professional Edition that provides support to wide range of media functionalities.

    2) Media Center lacks support for domain controllers. (If you search online there are ways to edit registry entries to enable active domain support. But if you enable domain support you could loose the media functionalities)

    3) Read in various places that the Media Center support will expire in 2yrs or when Vista is released, whereas XP Pro edition support will continue for 7 years as they are used by businesses.
    Last edited by MasterX : 09-20-2006 at 10:38 PM
    <embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" src="http://www.trillian.im/widgets/TrillianStatus.swf?user=MastricX&theme=platinum" width="400" height="64"/> Is there Flash BBCode on this Forum?

  18. #18
    You're all idiots. Retired Staff Member

    Inquisitor
    Mystic Videl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    lol
    Posts
    4,829

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by punture View Post
    I am not installing Vista upon its initial release. Maybe a year or two so that they can fix more bugs.
    They never really fix the bugs. They just cover the bugs with newer better bugs.
    whats up friends

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loser777 View Post
    I'm thinking about upgrading my computer to XP 64bit Ed. If anyone knows any issues with this Operating System, tell me.
    You can't upgrade to 64-bit edition, as it is for Itanium-based platforms only.

    What you can install, is the x64 edition, which was intended for AMD64/EMT64 machines (extended 64-bit instructions on x86).

    "Microsoft Windows XP 64-bit Edition was a version of Microsoft's Windows XP operating system designed to run on Intel Itanium family of microprocessors in their native 64-bit mode. It should not be confused with Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, which is designed for x86 processors supporting the x64 extensions."
    Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_XP_64-bit_Edition

    All in all, you cannot do a direct upgrade from x86 to x64. You must do a clean install, or a dual-boot. It can be of some performance boost, but it is hard to find drivers for all your devices for x64.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Free Microsoft Windows Vista Beta 2 CD
    By DUI_ in forum System & Utilities
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 09-15-2006, 05:45 PM
  2. Windows XP:home edition
    By CrazyGerbilEater in forum Hardware and Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-13-2006, 02:06 PM
  3. Windows updates
    By Greek in forum Hardware and Software
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-27-2006, 08:03 AM
  4. Help with Windows 2000
    By SPARTEN II in forum Hardware and Software
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-24-2006, 07:35 PM

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •