PDA

View Full Version : AMD Phenom II Overclocked to 6.5GHz



FlamingAsterix
01-26-2009, 04:29 PM
YouTube - AMD Phenom II Overclocked to 6.5GHz - New World Record for 3DMark (http://youtube.com/watch?v=wB0JodKgZ0A)
The video says it all.

Phrostbite
01-26-2009, 06:44 PM
Wow. That is awesome. I am sort of surprised that nobody got there fingers froze off.

ScAreCroW
01-26-2009, 08:03 PM
3 Kalvin, that is damn cold. But 6.5GHz is damn impressive

Eppie
01-26-2009, 08:21 PM
Wow. Wow. Wow.

FlamingAsterix
01-26-2009, 08:28 PM
F*ck i7. AMD is the leader in price-performance ratio.

Eppie
01-26-2009, 08:29 PM
Yes, but i7 is the leader in performance.

FlamingAsterix
01-26-2009, 08:32 PM
Yeah, if you need a 1000$ processor for working as a professional in the movie/music industry, by all means go and get an i7. But for anyone who is interested in having a high powered home system(ie gaming,home movies, etc), the Phenom II line provide the most feasible results. Not to mention when overclocked, the Phenom II remains indistinguishable from an i7.

EyeCheated
01-28-2009, 05:27 AM
I'm just waiting till they can figure out how to get speeds that high for longer than 90 minutes :veryhappy:

Eppie
01-28-2009, 05:27 AM
Not on that CPU I don't imagine.

EyeCheated
01-28-2009, 05:36 AM
Not on that CPU I don't imagine.

I agree. Not that it takes too much imagination. :awesome:

But it does show promise for what is to come. We have already broken the petaflop barrier last year but that is a multi million dollar machine and not going to be available for public use for maybe 20 years if we are lucky. I can only imagine what life will be like when you have a PC that can utilize that kind of power!!!

Eppie
01-28-2009, 05:38 AM
That's going to be pretty cool indeed.

FlamingAsterix
01-29-2009, 12:14 AM
I'm just waiting till they can figure out how to get speeds that high for longer than 90 minutes :veryhappy:
It really only lasted for 90 minutes because that was how much coolant they had. And keeping it at 3 kelvin for a 6.5ghz overclock is not entirely necessary. It was really just to show that the core can handle both extreme temperatures and clock speeds.

DSG
01-29-2009, 07:54 AM
Just setup my Phenom II 940 rig... and it smokes! :D

han_han
01-29-2009, 11:25 AM
Just setup my Phenom II 940 rig... and it smokes! :D
That can't be good for your computer :awesome:

I love the look on his face when he said "yea we just did that [broke a world record]"