PDA

View Full Version : GFX Card help



gamepin126
11-13-2008, 05:18 PM
I just bought a new ATI 4870 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102797), the first one I RMA'd because I thought it was DoA, but this new one is the same issue. I knew it was pci-e 2.0, but everything I read said it was backwards compatible with 1.0 motherboards.

My old card works fine, it's a nvidia 7800gt, what I'm currently using. When I plug in the new one, it's failing post. Nothing on video.

I have both 6pin's plugged in, the fan works when I power on the comp.

Should be everything you need to know about my comp, if it's not then ask for it.

550w antec PSU, from what I've read it's more than sufficient for this series of card
edit: Just noticed this, but I have an AMD x2 3800+ it says 4600 cuz I oc'd it :D

Motherboard:
CPU Type DualCore AMD Athlon 64 X2, 2450 MHz (10 x 245) 4600+
Motherboard Name Epox EP-9NPAJ / 9NPA+ / 9NPA+ Ultra (3 PCI, 3 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR DIMM, Audio, Gigabit LAN)
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA nForce4, AMD Hammer
System Memory 2048 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (08/11/06)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)
Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT (256 MB)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor [NoDB] (CNN42500V6)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Creative Audigy SE (SB0570) Sound Card
Audio Adapter Realtek ALC850 @ nVIDIA nForce4 (CK8-04) - Audio Codec Interface

Storage:
IDE Controller NVIDIA nForce4 ADMA Controller
IDE Controller NVIDIA nForce4 ADMA Controller
IDE Controller NVIDIA nForce4 Parallel ATA Controller
IDE Controller Standard IDE/ESDI Hard Disk Controller
Storage Controller SCSI/RAID Host Controller
Storage Controller SCSI/RAID Host Controller
Storage Controller SCSI/RAID Host Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive PNY USB 2.0 FD USB Device (980 MB, USB)
Disk Drive ST3400633AS (400 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA-II)
Disk Drive WDC WD1200JB-00GVA0 (111 GB, IDE)
Disk Drive WDC WD2500JD-19HBB0 (232 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive FJ6234Z GKB535D
Optical Drive FJ6234Z GKB535D SCSI CdRom Device
Optical Drive LITE-ON CD-RW SOHR-5239V (52x/32x/52x CD-RW)
Optical Drive Memorex 52MAX 325216AJ
Optical Drive PD5018V TFU534S SCSI CdRom Device
Optical Drive WZ4720G NTJ814I SCSI CdRom Device
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

NickF
11-13-2008, 05:58 PM
Does it POST at all, or is it just not booting into windows?
If not, did you reset your BIOS with the CMOS jumper? Did you try the card in another PC? Did you test your PSU's 12v rails in case of failure? Also, try booting it without your Soundblaster, Creative cards liek to cause IRQ problems.
If it does POST, then its a driver issue, and boot into safemode.

el-camino-ss
11-13-2008, 06:12 PM
Update your bios? Your board may be confused since its so new.

BTW I own that card and its AMAZING

and you dont have to jump your cmos to reset the bios lol, just take out the cmos battery for a couple mins with the computer unplugged. Jumping it is usually used for clearing the password.

gamepin126
11-13-2008, 10:51 PM
I updated my bios a few months ago, latest update was in 2006.

My card is POSTing, 1 long 2 short, the award winning bios, or w/e it's name is manual indicated that it was a video problem.

My monitor's receiving no signal.

I did reset the CMOS.

I tried each of the 6pin connector's with my 7800 and they both check out, so both of them together should work, I'd think. I don't know what you mean by "rails".

The red LED's on the back of the card pass it's own self POST test. (so says the sapphire forums) 3 on, blink and d601 remains unlit for the duration of the test.

edit: removing the creative card did nothing

el-camino-ss
11-14-2008, 01:38 AM
try another psu?

gamepin126
11-14-2008, 04:25 AM
I unplugged 1 hdd, and 1 dvd drive, and used the 3pin -> 6pin converters that came in the box, still no luck.

DSG
11-14-2008, 05:30 AM
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA nForce4, AMD Hammer
Theres your problem, you wouldn't happen to have access to a non-nvidia based motherboard you could swap out would you? nForce motherboards can have all sorts of issues with video cards (even nVIDIA's own cards). The NF2 and NF4 platforms had common issues such as the 'infinite loop'/BSOD with certain video cards.

gamepin126
11-14-2008, 05:33 AM
Not one with pci-e on it. This is the first computer I built, and that was like 4+ years ago, when I upgraded my prefab AGP comp.

Would you mind explaining why that is, or throw some links at me pls.

Indefinite
11-14-2008, 05:49 AM
Tried the card on another PC?

My first guess is that the card doesn't get enough voltage/wattage from the slot.

gamepin126
11-14-2008, 06:20 AM
First card I bought had the same issue, I assumed at first that it was theh card's issue. I RMA'd that one, and got this brand new one from newegg. Same exact symptoms so I'm hesitant to get a new one, as it's really unlikely to happen twice in a row with the same issues.

Most likely it's on my end, and DSG's suggestion sounds plausible. Just reading up on it now.

Indefinite
11-14-2008, 06:50 AM
Never had nForce based boards, so never experienced the problem, neither heard about it. But it seems pretty plausible, when I read up on it.

gamepin126
11-14-2008, 08:15 AM
You don't know if there'd be any issue running a DVI->VGA adapter out of the card would there? My sexy widescreen died and I haven't had a real DVI monitor yet. I been doing this for quite a while with my 7800gt, but since I got this card I'm starting to question everything, lol.

el-camino-ss
11-14-2008, 02:41 PM
You don't know if there'd be any issue running a DVI->VGA adapter out of the card would there? My sexy widescreen died and I haven't had a real DVI monitor yet. I been doing this for quite a while with my 7800gt, but since I got this card I'm starting to question everything, lol.

Nah, the computer should still post and turn on completely even if theres no video cable plugged in...

gamepin126
11-14-2008, 02:46 PM
I believe it is, just no signal for the monitor. It is posting, and the post indicates a video issue.

I think I'm just going to be a new mobo. Thanks for the help guys, appreciate it. <3 DSG

gamepin126
11-20-2008, 05:16 PM
I got a new BFG GTX 260, and it's the same problem : /

I guess the problem is that it's a pci-e 2.0 card going into a 1.0 slot. Everything I've read says it's forward/backwards compatible.

I think ima kill someone.

el-camino-ss
11-20-2008, 11:44 PM
I would try a new psu....

edit: are the fans on the card working?

Indefinite
11-21-2008, 12:33 AM
I still think it's the slot's power problem, considering the card POSTs itself and PSUs don't have such problems too often.

I'd check it on a seperate system and on another PSU. That way you could check, if it's your system or your PSU. I doubt there's an issue with that elsewhere.

el-camino-ss
11-21-2008, 12:51 AM
incase this helps :-/

LEDS on HD4870 cards

D1601 - Red LED On, shows critical temperature fault

D1602 - Red LED On, shows External power connector A was removed

D1603 - Red LED On, shows External power connector B was removed

D601 - Red LED On, shows critical Core power fault

gamepin126
11-21-2008, 06:55 AM
already looked at the LED on that card, it was all normal

And even if you don't plug any extra power into a card, it should still boot up like normal. You just get a warning "card isn't getting enough power, reducing clock speed" warning. I tried it with my 7800.

And yes, all the fans work fine. It runs at 100% fan speed for a few seconds, then goes to 60%.