PDA

View Full Version : Also Overclocking



Mr.CoolFace
07-31-2008, 09:24 PM
I did not want to hyjak supers thread so..

A few of you said you would not mind helping me Overclock my cpu.

FAN: Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System (Extreme Cooling Performance + Extreme Silent at 20dBA)
+ around 7 just plan case fans

CPU: (Sckt775)Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E8500 CPU @ 3.16GHz 1333FSB 6MB L2 Cache 64-bit [+4]


I'll stop looking online for info too.

DuckDuckGoose
07-31-2008, 09:36 PM
With that much cooling you could get it to 4.5Ghz. I myself wouldn't go above 4.0-4.2Ghz though.

What mobo are you using, and what ram (mhz, and timings to please, ddr2 or ddr3?).

For curiosities sake, what video card do you have?

Mr.CoolFace
08-01-2008, 03:58 AM
MOTHERBOARD: (3-Way SLI & QX9650/9770 Support) EVGA nForce 780i SLI Mainboard FSB1333 DDR2 3 x PCIe x16 SATA RAID w/ USB2.0,IEEE1394,&7.1Audio

VIDEO: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 1GB 16X PCI Express [-59] (EVGA Powered by NVIDIA [+5])
VIDEO2: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 1GB 16X PCI Express [-59] (EVGA Powered by NVIDIA [+5])


MEMORY: (Req.DDR2 MainBoard)4GB (4x1GB) PC6400 DDR2/800 Dual Channel Memory (Corsair or Major Brand)


OS: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Business w/ Service Pack 1 [+12] (32-bit Edition)

Eppie
08-01-2008, 05:23 AM
And the timings of the RAM?
Can be found using CPU-Z.

Mr.CoolFace
08-01-2008, 12:12 PM
And the timings of the RAM?
Can be found using CPU-Z.


Cycle time 15 clocks.
Bank 20 clocks.

DRAM 333.3MHZ

Any of that help?

I hate getting used to a new keyboard.

Mr.CoolFace
08-02-2008, 09:39 AM
Still no advice m?

Eppie
08-02-2008, 10:31 AM
Start turning the FSB up in the BIOS.

DuckDuckGoose
08-02-2008, 12:38 PM
adjust the fsb, bus, and multiplier to get it to what you want, then mess with the fsb:dram ratio to get the mem to 800mhz (400mhz in the bios screen)

Eppie
08-02-2008, 12:41 PM
or a little bit higher right now I have my 800MHz running at 902 and it works well.

DuckDuckGoose
08-02-2008, 02:02 PM
If you have crappy ram that will burn it out real fast. Unless you've got good ram don't overclock it's speed or it's timings.

Mr.CoolFace
08-02-2008, 02:50 PM
I just changed the FBS too like 1600 or 1700 ( was 1333.3) It now says I run a 3.16 duo core but at the end insted of saying 3.17 it now says 3.80.

I am kinda afraid of doing anything else. Any advice on something else? or should i keep it at 1600 or 1700?

Eppie
08-02-2008, 07:22 PM
Check the idle and 100% load temperatures.
Usually a pure FSB overclock won't do anything too bad, it is when you start playing with the voltage that you can damage your processor.

BTW my RAM is OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory.

OCZ is a good brand, and platinum sounds pretty good eh?

Mr.CoolFace
08-02-2008, 07:55 PM
So far running a few games and and music and surfing the internet and downloading a few things my cpu temp has not went over 35C..

Eppie
08-02-2008, 09:16 PM
run prime95 then tell me.