PDA

View Full Version : Help with no CD thing



thedollarbill
02-09-2008, 04:06 PM
Hey,
i was reading the frontpage of BWHacks.com, and i couldnt figure
out how to do what it said, i was wondering if there was anyone out there
that has MSN that would be able to remotely assist me.

if there was, please respond to me on here, then i'll give you my e-mail.
thanks for your help :teeth_smile:

Ctark
02-18-2008, 12:21 PM
Step_One:
Insert your broodwar cd into your cd drive,
Go to windows explorer
Click on the cd drive (default D:)
Find the "install.exe"
If it does not say ".exe" at the end goto Step_Two
Else Copy "install.exe" to your starcraft install directory (default C:\program files\starcraft\)
Rename "install.exe" to "BroodWar.mpq"
Goto Finish

Step_Two:
In windows explorer go "Tools > Folder Options"
Click the "view" tab
Uncheck the box that says "hide extentions for known file types"
Click "Apply"
Click "Ok"
Goto Finish

Finish:
Take Disk Out
Play Starcraft

thedollarbill
02-23-2008, 12:46 PM
woot, thanks for your help. now i need to find a cd key lol.

TheReaper89
02-23-2008, 12:59 PM
Starcraft is like... 5$? :P

Indefinite
02-24-2008, 03:46 AM
The way Ctark presented is kinda heavy for the size of SC.
You can always get a cropped install.exe (like this one (http://student.agh.edu.pl/%7Emonikon/scbw/dl/install.zip) - 481kB) and rename it as well.
It works for multiplayer, only campaigns not accessible.

Three Pointed Infinity
02-24-2008, 04:28 AM
Well, I just took the Brood War MPQ and was able to put it on a flash drive along with all my other starcraft stuff AND an emulator, AND all my school work, AND... oh wait no that's it. Flash drive was 2GB.

S(K)zergman369
02-24-2008, 12:42 PM
MY Stupid computer wont let it work


i get the front thing like when u insert cd but then when i click play it dont work