PDA

View Full Version : WinRAR error...



YouDrongo
10-05-2007, 12:23 PM
My Problem: Whenever I try to open WinRAR, it says it has an error and needs to close, so I try to install it again, it says some files can't be installed, so I try to uninstall it, it says uninstall.exe has an error and needs to close...

What I need: How do I get it to work again!?

ViperSRT3g
10-05-2007, 12:26 PM
Please download winrar from here: http://rarlabs.com/download.htm
I'm fairly sure you won't have stupid issues. And if you did download that from this site, just re-download it. It looks like something got corrupted.

YouDrongo
10-05-2007, 12:28 PM
That's one of the sites I tried.

BTW: I tried setting a new install path for it, ALL OF THE FILES INSTALL!!!

BUUUUUT

When I try to open WinRAR, same thing happens, stupid error.

dragonnas
10-05-2007, 12:30 PM
Insert computer into bathtub. Fill bathtub. Now try downloading the file again.

YouDrongo
10-05-2007, 12:32 PM
There really isn't a point saying that. Stay on the damn topic.

ViperSRT3g
10-05-2007, 12:53 PM
Then download this exact file... http://rarlabs.com/rar/wrar371.exe
I'm fairly sure your the cause of the problems and you don't know it. WinRAR isn't a complicated program to deal with. And generally, your supposed to open the .zip or .rar files, not the winrar program itself.

YouDrongo
10-05-2007, 02:07 PM
How could that help? I already dled that, same thing happens.

And YES you have to open WinRAR to extract .zip and .rar files.

ViperSRT3g
10-05-2007, 02:08 PM
No you don't, you can simply right click a .zip or .rar file, then select extract to here, and it can automatically extract it for you without having to go through starting up since it should already be running >_> And if anything then your comp is being stupid.

dragonnas
10-05-2007, 02:30 PM
There are dozens of other archiver/decompressor progs out there that work with .RAR format. Such as stuffit, winACE, etc. Even WinZip works with RAR files after version 11.

Now take away my infraction. I was helpful.

YouDrongo
10-08-2007, 12:09 PM
O rly? Well lemme check the 'extract here...' thing...brb...

EDIT: it says "windows cannot find c:\docume~1\(myusername)\desktop\winrar.exe" when I click "Extract here".

Downloading WinZIP...

EDIT VERSION2 WOOOOOO: k, downloaded WinZIP, got to extract files, but I can only use it for 45 days =\...

Indefinite
10-08-2007, 12:31 PM
7-Zip. It's free and it's better than WinZip.

As for the problem, you must've ****ed something up in the system or in WinRAR, that you're not telling us. Things don't screw up by themselves.

YouDrongo
10-08-2007, 12:35 PM
Well this isn't my comp, it's my grandma's, and she's been doing some stuff with it...

BTW: Grats on 777 posts d00d XD

Zhuinden
10-08-2007, 01:25 PM
I say Total Commander > All, although TC doesn't know "Store" compression type, which kinda sux.

Costas
10-08-2007, 06:38 PM
virus infection ftw or she disabled the windows installer.