PDA

View Full Version : Laptop. What do you think?



Mr.CoolFace
08-29-2007, 10:00 AM
I am thinking of getting this. I need a new one anyways.

Aurora™ m9700

512MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 7900 GS
17" WideUXGA 1920 x 1200 LCD with Clearview Technology
AMD Turion™ 64 Mobile ML44 2.4GHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 Cache
2GB Dual Channel DDR SO-DIMM at 400MHz - 2 x 1024MB
Alienware® NVIDIA® Mobile SLi Chipset
Genuine (javascript:OpenDetailsWindow('/Configurator_Pages/Details_Pages/Static_Pages/genuine_microsoft.aspx');) Windows Vista™ Ultimate

Without Media Center Remote Control or TV Tuner ( cuz i have no clue wtf this is...)

Internal 802.11b/g WiFi Card
High-Definition Audio with surround sound
8x Dual Layer CD-RW/DVD±RW Burner w/ LightScribe Technology
160GB (160GB x 2) Serial ATA 1.5Gb/s 7,200 RPM w/ NCQ & 8MB Cache
500GB Seagate Pushbutton Backup External Hard Drive

Anythoughts?

ScAreCroW
08-29-2007, 10:23 AM
That's just so you can hook up your laptop to your tv like a dvd player sort of.

Anyway, yeah it's nice. I'd buy it. What's the price?

Mr.CoolFace
08-29-2007, 10:29 AM
That's just so you can hook up your laptop to your tv like a dvd player sort of.

Anyway, yeah it's nice. I'd buy it. What's the price?

Thought I added that.
Its around $3500. I might go for 123$ a mounth though.

kds
08-29-2007, 10:32 AM
That's just so you can hook up your laptop to your tv like a dvd player sort of.

Anyway, yeah it's nice. I'd buy it. What's the price?

Wrong. The remote is obviously so you can control your PC via a remote and the TV tuner is so you can hook up an external source (such as a coaxial cable or a video game system) and view it/record on your laptop.

Seems pretty expensive, but it's also a good laptop. I personally wouldn't do it, I'd just build a way better PC for the same price.

ScAreCroW
08-29-2007, 10:33 AM
I know what the media remote was. but I thought the tv tuner was to hook your laptop to a tv.

Anyway, for the price I wouldn't get it

And kds, he probably needs a laptop for some reason. That's the only reason anyone gets them

Mr.CoolFace
08-29-2007, 10:35 AM
Wrong. The remote is obviously so you can control your PC via a remote and the TV tuner is so you can hook up an external source (such as a coaxial cable or a video game system) and view it/record on your laptop.

Seems pretty expensive, but it's also a good laptop. I personally wouldn't do it, I'd just build a way better PC for the same price.


I know what the media remote was. but I thought the tv tuner was to hook your laptop to a tv.

Anyway, for the price I wouldn't get it
And kds, he probably needs a laptop for some reason. That's the only reason anyone gets them



Yes is a bit on the shiny side...
I cant build a pc however so this is my only choice but If you can find a better one for around 3-35 id like to know.

Sight
08-29-2007, 12:29 PM
lucomputers.com

Pete_Zahut
08-29-2007, 02:13 PM
Good laptop, too expensive

Gore
08-31-2007, 09:08 PM
In my experience, laptops with too much packed in don't work too well. They function too much like PC's and not enough like a laptop. Buy a cheaper PC if you want all of that, and with the money you save, buy a ****ty laptop.

Mr.CoolFace
09-01-2007, 02:10 AM
In my experience, laptops with too much packed in don't work too well. They function too much like PC's and not enough like a laptop. Buy a cheaper PC if you want all of that, and with the money you save, buy a ****ty laptop.


Beat you to the idea.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66GHz 4MB Cache 1066MHz FSB
War Machine Quad Core Liquid Cooling
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
EVGA 650I Ultra ATX Motherboard
Crucial Ballistixs 4GB 240-Pin DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA Nvidia 768MB 8800 GTX
250GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
DVD 20X Dual Layer DVD±RW/CD-RW Writer w/ LightScribe Technology
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard (RED)
Razer Diamondback Gaming Mouse (Red)
Logitech Z-5500 505 Watts 5.1 Speaker


Its not AS great but its cheeper.

$2309.00/2400.00 Depends on rather I upgrade to 500GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Thoughts?

Also two things I dont understand:

1. Raid None [included in price]
Raid 1-Requires 2 Identical Drives [subtract $0.00]
Raid 0-Require 2 Identical Drives [subtract $0.00]
What is Raid?

2.150GB 10,000RPM 16MB Cache[add $92.00]
500GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s

You start of with a 160. 85$ gets you 500GB 177.00 Gets you 150 GB but it has 10,000 ( not sure what that is i may google it)

12$ more then the 160Gb you start at and you get 250GB, so that was a DoH

http://i165.photobucket.com/albums/u72/LordRobbie/m1.jpg
http://i165.photobucket.com/albums/u72/LordRobbie/adBanner.jpg

NoLongerHere
09-01-2007, 10:29 AM
Why the **** would you get a laptop with specs like that?

imbecile.

Mr.CoolFace
09-01-2007, 11:32 AM
Why the **** would you get a laptop with specs like that?

imbecile.


Stfu and Gtfo

Gore
09-01-2007, 03:04 PM
The 10k rpm means it's a much faster drive, you get your dataz from it a lot faster. Games run smoother.

dragonnas
09-01-2007, 03:39 PM
lol why get a gaming laptop anyway? When you're "on the go", are you really thinking about pwning noobs?

It's excessive. Get a biz/corp notebook for $12, upgrade your home PC for another $8, and spend the other 1.3k on your mom.

Kids these days spending $3300 on a NOTEBOOK. Ridiculous. You'll "bump" into someone at the airport and lose about 3 grand. Afterwards, I'll be able to buy the same laptop for half the price.
^^

punture
09-01-2007, 09:56 PM
3500 for that? I will never buy it...

Sight
09-02-2007, 04:55 AM
i love that case... T___T

gamepin126
09-03-2007, 08:25 PM
The 10k rpm means it's a much faster drive, you get your dataz from it a lot faster. Games run smoother.

GAMES RUN OFF RAM

Ganondorf
09-03-2007, 10:06 PM
he means they load quicker amirite gorgy

gamepin126
09-03-2007, 10:37 PM
he means they load quicker amirite gorgy

You only really need a fast hdd if you're using it as a server, and are pulling off multiple things at the same time. It's not worth it otherwise. I mean, there's gonna be like a whole half second rendering difference if you're just browsing images in a folder or something.

mega_newblar
09-03-2007, 11:27 PM
i can build a $1100 dollar dell notebook with higher fps in games
alienware is always a complete waste of money. its all just for sho


Beat you to the idea.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66GHz 4MB Cache 1066MHz FSB
War Machine Quad Core Liquid Cooling
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
EVGA 650I Ultra ATX Motherboard
Crucial Ballistixs 4GB 240-Pin DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA Nvidia 768MB 8800 GTX
250GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
DVD 20X Dual Layer DVD±RW/CD-RW Writer w/ LightScribe Technology
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard (RED)
Razer Diamondback Gaming Mouse (Red)
Logitech Z-5500 505 Watts 5.1 Speaker
Its not AS great but its cheeper.
$2309.00/2400.00 Depends on rather I upgrade to 500GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Thoughts?
Also two things I dont understand:
1. Raid None [included in price]
Raid 1-Requires 2 Identical Drives [subtract $0.00]
Raid 0-Require 2 Identical Drives [subtract $0.00]
What is Raid?
2.150GB 10,000RPM 16MB Cache[add $92.00]
500GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
You start of with a 160. 85$ gets you 500GB 177.00 Gets you 150 GB but it has 10,000 ( not sure what that is i may google it)
12$ more then the 160Gb you start at and you get 250GB, so that was a DoH
http://i165.photobucket.com/albums/u72/LordRobbie/m1.jpg
http://i165.photobucket.com/albums/u72/LordRobbie/adBanner.jpg

raid improves the 'read' seeking on hds
and the 150gb raptor 10k can read/write faster than 7200 rpm hds
id go with raid 1. raid 0 is faster but is substantially more prone to failure

gamepin126
09-03-2007, 11:52 PM
i can build a $1100 dollar dell notebook with higher fps in games
alienware is always a complete waste of money. its all just for sho



raid improves the 'read' seeking on hds
and the 150gb raptor 10k can read/write faster than 7200 rpm hds
id go with raid 1. raid 0 is faster but is substantially more prone to failure
What's the point of putting RAID on 1 hdd?

Pete_Zahut
09-06-2007, 02:08 PM
What's the point of putting RAID on 1 hdd?
There is no point these idiots get it because it sounds "cool" thats why

dragonnas
09-06-2007, 10:07 PM
Raid is just another way of losing all your data because of a minor failure.

Got a mobo with onboard RAID once, then I had to flash the BIOS for a prescott CPU. Lost everything. NEVER AGAIN LEST WE FORGET WTC

gamepin126
09-06-2007, 10:10 PM
Raid is just another way of losing all your data because of a minor failure.

DAMN DUDE THANKS 4 TELLIN ME THIS CUZ MY DAD MIGHT HAVE LOST ALL THE DATA ON HIS 40K DOLLAR SERVER THAT HE MAINTAINS, WHICH PAYS THE BILLS FOR EVERY STATE EMPLOYEE FOR CALIFORNIA

OMG THXN SOOO MUCH BRB IMA TELL HIM TO CHANGE IT

I hope you die in some chemical explosion.