PDA

View Full Version : Router problems



i-8-my-goldfish
02-06-2007, 11:50 PM
I am currently using a netgear Router Version Wgr614 v6.

I can connect through it no problem. I tested my download and upload and it's almost exactly the same as if i were hard wired.

SO my problem is that why is the router only showing 3 bars out of a possible 5 as my connection.
My friend connected and he was able to get 5 bars on his lap top.

I can't figure it out and neither can he.

Any help would be appreciated. I updated any firmware that was available aswell.

I tried alot of googling with no help.

gamepin126
02-07-2007, 12:39 AM
The bars are based off signal strength aka latency.

Donlac
02-08-2007, 07:29 AM
Were the two (im assuming) laptops in the same place? Believe it or not, it is possible to be too close to a wireless router. I would recommend no closer than a couple feet. Any closer and the signal sometimes disconnects randomly and/or drops in quality. Its also possible he just has a better wireless card (or built in component).