PDA

View Full Version : Exact time to create a Dark Templar in milliseconds



HoCkEy_PUCK
01-03-2006, 05:05 PM
I need to know the exact time required to create one Protoss Dark Templar in milliseconds. I'm trying to make a system to spawn a Dark Templar for Starcraft original users after a certain amount of time. This is what it looks like so far:

Trigger("Protoss Refugees"){
Conditions:
Bring("Current Player", "Men", "DTWarpLoc", At least, 1);
Accumulate("Current Player", At least, 125, ore);
Accumulate("Current Player", At least, 100, gas);
Command("Current Player", "Protoss Pylon", At least, 1);
Command("Current Player", "Protoss Gateway", At least, 1);
Command("Current Player", "Protoss Templar Archives", At least, 1);
Switch("DTWarp", set);

Actions:
Comment("Warp new DT (P6 meets DT warp requirements)");
Set Resources("Current Player", Subtract, 125, ore);
Set Resources("Current Player", Subtract, 100, gas);
Display Text Message(Always Display, "Warping in Dark Templar...");
Wait(15000);
Create Unit("Current Player", "Dark Templar (Hero)", 1, "Player Gateway");
Play WAV("staredit\\wav\\PDTRdy00.wav", 2151);
Preserve Trigger();
}

It's the darn wait time that I can't get correct. Everything else seems to work fine.

EDIT: 15000 milliseconds spawns the Dark Templar approximately 2/3 into a regular Dark Templar warp.

XCreepingDeathX
01-03-2006, 05:16 PM
Kind of off topic, but what trigger editor are you using?

HoCkEy_PUCK
01-03-2006, 05:17 PM
What trigger editor are you using?
I created the triggers with StarEdit's trigger editor, I just went into SCM Draft to copy the trigger lines.

~=HyDrO=~
01-06-2006, 01:28 PM
................. it should already be set in the editor....
check the unit property editor thing, it will tell u how many seconds, than add 3 0's to the end of it... (i think its 3)

HoCkEy_PUCK
01-10-2006, 08:30 AM
................. it should already be set in the editor....
check the unit property editor thing, it will tell u how many seconds, than add 3 0's to the end of it... (i think its 3)
What part of "I already tried that" don't you understand? Adding three zeros will spawn the unit after approximately 12 minutes. Why, you ask? Because game seconds are different from actual seconds. One millisecond passes at a different pace in the game than 1/1000 of a game second would.

Captain_Llama
02-07-2006, 09:48 PM
Yep, 'tis true. Ever try comparing a real timer to the in game timer? The in game timer is way off after a bit.

pandas
02-09-2006, 03:38 PM
Ten game seconds on Fastest = eight seconds.

Zerkeliu
02-14-2006, 08:20 PM
I know you already the solved the problem but, creating a wait trigger that big isn't recommended because the wait time trigger builds up. Use other means such as minerals depleting and once it reaches 0, make it add up again or whatever you want it to do.

StarcraftSuxAss
03-16-2006, 12:42 PM
I need to know the exact time required to create one Protoss Dark Templar in milliseconds. I'm trying to make a system to spawn a Dark Templar for Starcraft original users after a certain amount of time. This is what it looks like so far:
doesnt the map automatically become a .scx extension since it has a trigger that deals with brood war only units?
if so, then ur efforts of creating a dt in original starcraft wont ever work.

XCreepingDeathX
03-16-2006, 12:43 PM
Don't bring back old threads please...

Saberking
03-16-2006, 12:43 PM
*1 Month old thread alert*

StarcraftSuxAss
03-16-2006, 12:45 PM
sori, im at school and have a free period, was just surfin gthe threads

XCreepingDeathX
03-16-2006, 12:46 PM
Its alright, just try not to do it again or the mods will rape you.