PDA

View Full Version : Lots Of trouble with 1 trigger



Frost_socold
11-14-2005, 01:49 AM
Ok me and my friend are noobs to map making and we have gotten it far for us anyways the trigger we are having problems with is that we have already set a location and well here is an example.


We set the trigger and action and location for a spawning for a specidic unit for a specific player no problems there BUT it will spawn a firebat after 3 kills BUT!!! IT WILL not spawn him after another 3 kills we want it to spawn 1 firebat unit every 3 kills not just your first 3 kills but so on kind of like a reset trigger.

We tried preserve but did not work well only made a firebat appear after the other and then no more only 2 firebats and it stopped..
anyone got a clue what im talking about if so please tell me how I can make this trigger work

Thanks frost_socold:cool:

Akazukin
11-14-2005, 02:27 AM
My friend and I are amature map makers. We have problems concerning triggers. Here is an example :

We've wrote a trigger to spawn a unit on a specific location. The trigger should spawn a new firebat whenever a player has accumulated three kills. However, it will only execute once. Thats not what we want.

Thus, we've added in a "Preserve Trigger" statement. However, it stops working after creating the second firebat. Could anyone here who understand my problems post a solution for us?

Thanks a lot. :cool:
Yours faithfully, Frost_soco.


Check your Trigger's target. Is it for just player 1? for player 2? or all players?
For example, if it is for all players (8), it means that the trigger will only execute after you've killed 24 units.

Also, check the Trigger condition. Make sure that it is "current player kills 3 units at anywhere", and not "player 1 kills 3 units at anywhere".

Hope this helps :)

Frost_socold
11-14-2005, 02:35 AM
It is set for player one.

Condition:

Player 1 kills exactly 3 of any unit

Action:

Create 1 terran firebat at (Location we made thats big) for player 1.




This results in after 3 of a unit being killed i get 1 firebat.

That is good.

I just want it to give me another firebat after i kill 3 more units and so on. Not just the first 3.

Zaund
11-14-2005, 03:05 AM
For Starforge it would look like this:

Condition:
Score(P1, Kills, AtLeast, 3); (Thanks goto 707 for the 'AtLeast' command)

Action:
SetScore(P1, SetTo , 0, Kills);
CreateUnit(1, Firebat, Location, P1);
PreserveTrigger();

Hope this helps :) This method can also be used for a ammo system :D

P4C
12-07-2005, 02:45 PM
Put Preserve trigger on it.

707
12-07-2005, 02:52 PM
You should set it has Kills at least 3 units

Lord_Nicon
12-09-2005, 11:10 PM
erm, know what you do.. you do this...

(trigger 1)
conditions:
current player kills exactly 3 any unit.

actions:
add one custom.
preserve trigger.

(trigger 2)
conditions:
current player has at least 1 custom.

actions:
create 1 firebat at locationX.
subtract one custom.
preserve trigger.

this will work, I've used it myself many times.
there may be an easyer way to do it, but this will work for sure